APCMA 2012 Award Winners: Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards


The 2012 APCMAs—the 7th annual Aboriginal People's Choice Music Awardstook place November 1st and 2nd in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Two nights of celebrating Indigenous music, one long list of winners! Here is a complete list of the 2012 APCMA award winners.

The Aboriginal People's Choice Music Awards were handed out over the course of two nights this week in Winnipeg, and pop-country singer Shy-Anne Hovorka took home the most trophies, winning in all six categories in which she was nominated, including the prestigious Aboriginal Female Entertainer of the Year award:

Northwestern Ontario’s Shy-Anne Hovorka was the winner of six awards including Aboriginal Female Entertainer of the Year. Shy-Anne was nominated for six awards, and won all six. Three of the awards that Shy-Anne won were on Thursday night and three on Friday night.

Source: NNL

Hometown success, Winnipeg's own Don Amero also won big, taking home Male Aboriginal Entertainer of the Year as his first APCMA award, while Six Nations rocker Derek Miller took home the award for Best Blues CD for his work with the late Stevie Ray Vaughan's band Double Trouble.

Check out the complete list of 2012 winners below.

Complete List of 2012 APCMA Award Winners

Best blues CD Derek MillerDerek Miller with Double Trouble

Best country CD Shy-Anne Hovorka, Interwoven Roots

Best hand drum CD Fawn Wood, Iskwewak

Best new artist Bruthers of Different Muthers

Best pow wow CD - traditional Young Bear, Keeping It Old Style 

Best rap/hip hop CD Lightningcloud, LightningCloud

Single of the year Shy-Anne Hovorka, The Glue

Aboriginal songwriter of the year Tracy Bone, Woman of Red

Aboriginal female entertainer of the year Shy-Anne Hovorka

Aboriginal male entertainer of the year Don Amero

Best album cover design Shy-Anne, Interwoven Roots

Best fiddle CD Wesley Hardisty, 12:12 

Best flute CD Dallas Arcand, Sacred Sweetgrass

Best folk/acoustic CD Janet Panic, Samples

Best gospel CD Yvonne St. Germaine, Tennessee Sky 

Best group or duo Northern Cree

Best instrumental CD Gabriel Ayala, Shades of Blue

Best music video Shy-Anne Hovorka, Too Young, Too Late

Best pop CD Indian City, Supernation

Best powwow CD — contemporary Northern Cree, Drum Boy — Mistikwaskink Napesis

Best producer/engineer Shy-Anne Hovorka

Best rock CD Sinuupa, Culture Shock

Northern Cree and Cree Confederation at the 2012 APCMAs


2012 APCMA nominated drummers Northern Cree and the Cree Confederation are slated for best duo or group of the year at this years awards show, coming up November 1-2nd, 2012.

Just deadly, these guys. Northern Cree have been rocking the powwow since 1982, keeping the fire going for generations of Indigenous peoples to come.

"More than 20 years of power and raw energy... taking traditional Aboriginal music to the next level..."

They've obviously been leaving them wanting more on the trail as can be seen on Twitter:



Cree Confederation has also been busy on the trail having been to many places across Turtle Island in 2012, including the Gathering of Nations.


Here's are two videos from the two groups, both shot in 2012. Here's wishing the best of luck to both groups at this year's APCMAs!