APCMA Nominees 2012


At a press conference in Winnipeg this morning, the 2012 Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Award nominees were announced. Read the full list of nominees here.

Following a first round of industry votes, the 2012 Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards (APCMA) announced the official nominees and opened the polls to public voting this morning. To vote for your favourite artists, go to aboriginalpeopleschoice.com. Voting closes September 3rd, and the awards take place November 1st and 2nd in Winnipeg.

Congratulations to all the nominees from RPM! They are:

Best Album Cover Design Chippewa Travellers - Love/Zaagidwin Dallas Arcand - Cedar Flute Electronica: Modern Day Warrior Indian City - Supernation Janet Rogers - Got Your Back Lena Recollet - I Am Woman, Kwe Shy-Anne - Interwoven Roots

Best Blues CD Derek Miller - Derek Miller With Double Trouble Gary Farmer And The Troublemakers - Under The Watertower Joel Johnson - Blues Joose Vol. 1 Murray Porter - Songs Lived & Life Played Priscilla’s Revenge - 3rd Gear

Best Country CD Jerry Sereda - Turn The Country On Ron Loutit - Where I Come From Shy-Anne - Interwoven Roots Terri Clark - Roots And Wings Tracy Bone - Woman Of Red

Best Fiddle CD Blain Constant - Listening From Above Dallas Boyer - Music Metis Fiddler Quartet - North West Voyage Nord Ouest Midnite Mist - A Tribute To Bill Bryant Wesley Hardisty - 12:12

Best Flute CD Dallas Arcand - Sacred Sweetgrass Herman Edward - It’s About Time Tony Duncan - Earth Warrior

Best Folk / Acoustic CD Dark Water Rising - Dark Water Rising Dylan Rysstad - Ghost House Ghostkeeper - Ghostkeeper Janet Panic  - Samples Phyllis Sinclair - Dreams Of The Washerwomen

Best Gospel CD Becky Thomas - Sacred Ground Cheryl Bear - A’ba Dean Powder - Living Proof Yvonne St. Germaine  - Tennessee Sky

Best Group Or Duo Cree Confederation C-Weed Band Indian City Northern Cree Priscilla's Revenge

Best Hand Drum Cd Big River Cree - The Old Way Eastern Eagle - Softer Side Fawn Wood - Iskwewak Indigie Femme - Grandmother Earth, Grandfather Sky Nakoa Heavyrunner & Rocky Morin  - Medicine Line

Best Instrumental Cd Curt Young - Northern Equinox Dallas Arcand - Cedar Flute Electronica: Modern Day Warrior Gabriel Ayala - Shades Of Blue Jeari Czapla - Dear Leonardo Rev Hank - Longhorn

Best International Indigenous Artist Adam James Kiran Ahluwahlia Nrg Rising Steele

Best Music Video Beatrice Love - Dirty Game Donny Parenteau - Fiddleback Cris Derksen  - Pow Wow Wow Shy-Anne - Too Young, Too Late Winnipeg’s Most - Winnipeg Boy

Best New Artist Bruthers Of Different Muthers Indian City Jb The First Lady Kristi Lane Sinclair Lena Recollet

Best Pop Cd Don Amero - The Long Way Home Holly Mcnarland  - Run Body Run Indian City - Supernation Lena Recollet - I Am Woman, Kwe Will Belcourt - Epoch

Best Pow Wow Cd - Contemporary Black Bear - Spring Medicine Cree Confederation - Horse Dance - Mistatim Simoowin Northern Cree - Drum Boy - Mistikwaskink Napesis River Cree - River Cree Young Spirit - Live In Hinckley 2011

Best Pow Wow Cd - Traditional Chippewa Travellers - Love/Zaagidwin High Noon - Live In Brandon Mandaree Singers  - Mandaree Revisited Wild Band Of Comanches  - Wild Band Of Comanches Young Bear - Keeping It Old Style

Best Producer/Engineer Donny Parenteau Indian City Leanne Goose Shy-Anne Vince Fontaine

Best Rap / Hip Hop Cd Blu - No Way No How Lightning Cloud - Lightning Cloud Rellik - Mighty Mouth Tha Link - Tha Link Vibez - On My Way

Best Rock Cd Charles “Chucky” Keelan - Chucky ? Federal Lights - Carbon Quinton Moody - Worldwide Services Sinuupa - Culture Shock Tonemah - Mulligan

Single Of The Year Don Amero - Turn These Grey Skies Blue Indian City - Supernation Iskwe - Wandering Murray Porter - Rez Bluez Shy-Anne - The Glue

Aboriginal Songwriter Of The Year Bruthers Of Different Muthers - Speakers Of Tomorrow Donny Parenteau - Play On Holly Mcnarland - Alone’s Just Fine Indian City - Supernation Murray Porter - Is Sorry Enough? Tracy Bone - Woman Of Red

Aboriginal Female Entertainer Of The Year Phyllis Sinclair Shy-Anne Tagaq Terri Clark Tracy Bone

Aboriginal Male Entertainer Of The Year Dallas Boyer Don Amero Jerry Sereda Kasp Murray Porter

Vote now at aboriginalpeopleschoice.com!